HCD 32729 cover.jpg

Vivaldi: The Four Seasons

by Zsolt Kalló (violin); Capella Savaria (on period instruments)

“I can only hope you shall not be astounded finding The Four Seasons among the modest number of concertos here which your Highness has been kind enough to support with generous patience. (...) I am most certain that you shall judge them as if they were novelties.” – These lines were written by Antonio Vivaldi (1678 – 1741) in a letter to his patron, Bohemian Count Morzin, when recommending a set of compositions (Opus 8.) including one of his most frequently played masterpieces, the violin concertos known as the Four Seasons. The cycle is played – in Opus Magazine’s description as “one of Europe’s best ensembles” – by Capella Savaria, on period instruments.

℗ 2013 Fotexnet Kft.

HCD 32729

Buy on iTunes